Gazpacho – not just for tomatoes

The cucumber glut continues. I estimate that between our backyard and the community garden, I’ve harvested about 200 lbs of cucumbers (with signs of slowing but certainly not stopping anytime soon). I’ve done a lot with this bounty, and a new favorite is cucumber gazpacho.

Don’t get me wrong – I adore traditional tomato gazpacho, and I’ve made plenty of it this summer. But I have way more cukes than tomatoes! The great thing about gazpacho of any kind is how flexible it is. Here’s what I do, more or less.

Cucumber gazpacho

Ingredients:

  • Cucumbers
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Fresh dill, basil, or mint
  • Plain yogurt or sour cream
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Coarsely chop the cucumbers and throw into a food processor or blender. You don’t have to peel or de-seed them, but if you want a finer soup you can. I usually peel half of them, and de-seed only the really seedy ones.

Add a few slices of onion and a head of raw garlic. These are really strong flavors, so resist the urge to go overboard.

Add fresh dill, basil, or mint. I think dill is the absolute best flavor here.

Add a dollop of yogurt or sour cream, a drizzle or a glug of olive oil depending on your tastes, salt and pepper, and blend until smooth. Refrigerate at least 1 hour. This keeps in the fridge up to a week. (I’m currently experimenting with whether or not this freezes well… I’ll update you when I thaw a jar!)

Optional: throw a few tomatoes in there and make cucumber-tomato gazpacho.

For texture and even more flavor, I serve this with any or all of the following: chopped tomatoes, onions, peppers; feta; slivered almonds or other nuts or seeds. For lunch I’ve been making grilled cheese sandwiches with a cup of this on the side.

Leave a Reply

