Braised Garden Greens – Short and Sweet

There’s a massive mustard green plant in our garden that must have been planted by the previous tenants. At first I didn’t notice it because it’s in such an odd location, but I have been harvesting from it for about a month. I shouldn’t have let it flower but as a beekeeper’s girlfriend I had a hard time cutting off the little buds, and the bees have been very happy about my decision not to. Luckily it hasn’t made the leaves inedibly bitter.

mustard greens

I never seem to tire of this simple braising recipe that I invented to deal with the endless supply of greens that come from a home garden or CSA box.

Ingredients:

  • One large handful of greens (today I used mustard greens and this broccolini-esque kale bud I got at the Ukiah Farmer’s Market on Saturday; I have also used kale, chard, collards, etc.)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic granules or powder, or 1-2 crushed cloves
  • Sprinkle of sea salt

Put a frying pan on the stove top on medium to medium-low heat. Throw everything in but the greens and mix together until they form a sort of paste.

braising ingredients

Pre-mixed ingredients

fresh greens

Pre-cooked greens

Add the slightly-wet-from-washing greens (you’ll want that little bit of water) and stir until evenly coated. Cover for 3 minutes, stir, and cover for another 3-5 minutes until they have the texture you’re going for (I like mine to stay a little crisp).

The biggest problem is that greens cook way down, so this recipe doesn’t go very far and it’s not very filling. I combat this by 1) only making this recipe for myself, and 2) eating it as dessert after lunch.

cooked greens

One thought on “Braised Garden Greens – Short and Sweet

  1. Pingback: RIP, Mustard Green | My Ukiah

Leave a Reply

