Downtown Ukiah: Foot Logic Massage

I’m not sure how long it’s been open, but I believe Foot Logic Massage on the corner of School and Standley is a relatively new Ukiah fixture. Back when I was corporately employed I used to get massages twice a month, and though that is no longer a luxury I can afford I do treat myself from time to time.

I had a hankering for a massage today so I called to make sure they had someone available before walking over. As soon as I entered I was soothed by the space – new bamboo hardwoods and low, comfortable chairs line a far wall in an otherwise open room. Calming flute music played as I was talked into the 1 hour foot reflexology/back combo. English is very much a second language in this space so I wasn’t sure what I was getting for my money, but I wasn’t too worried.

I sat down in a chair and my massage therapist brought a warm tub for my feet. Everything was very clean, with fresh towels covering all surfaces and the tub lined with a thin plastic bag (which I would argue isn’t any more wasteful than the soap and water it would take to clean after every use, and a much more consistent way to keep things sanitary). While my feet soaked he massaged my shoulders, neck, arms, and hands, and then set to work on my feet for a good 25 minutes. Neither gentle nor rough, I had the sense that he was genuinely dedicated to improving my health through massage.

After 30 minutes I was moved into one of the two massage rooms and the second half hour was a full-body rub with most of the focus on my upper back (I tend to carry a lot of stress there, so I’m not sure if that’s standard or just where he found the knots). He used a lot of pressure but did ask to makes sure I was okay with it, and did some of that fist smacking against my legs and feet that I always love during a pedicure. All in all I would say it was a very good massage.

I could hear the other people in what is essentially one huge room with a few areas sectioned off, but I didn’t mind. People talked in gentle tones and everyone’s energy was very positive, similar to a community acupuncture setting.

Overall this was an excellent value. Here’s what you can get:

  • Foot reflexology: 30 min: $25; 1 hour: $35 (I think an hour would be too long, though they do rub your shoulders, arms, and hands in both the 30 min and 1 hour sessions)
  • Food/back combo, 1 hour: $45
  • Full body massage, 30 min: $40; 1 hour: $55

As an added bonus, they’re open from 10-9 every day of the week and walk-ins are happily¬†accommodated, so you can go pretty much any time the urge strikes.

Two thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

